Posted by: Cindy Downes | May 11, 2007

Back to College at 57!

Yes, it’s true. I’ve finally decided to finish what I started in 1968 – my college degree! I’m starting in June with summer school.

My daughter, Shelly is going back to finish her degree at the same time! She is quite tickled that she has a 3.65 GPA while I have only a 2.3! My excuse – I was public schooled and she was homeschooled!

My first hurdle is to finish up a few freshmen and sophomore courses that I decided to skip (because I thought they weren’t all that important!) and take some new ones that are now required that weren’t required back in ’68. These include College Algebra, Calculus, Statistics, American History, Freshman Comp II, Computer Concepts. and Speech. I’ll be taking them at Tulsa Community College as this is the cheapest way to go.

Then, I’ll finish my degree at OSU-Tulsa. IF I don’t mess up this time, I will graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing when I am 62 years old!

My goal with this blog is to keep you informed of my progress and my adventures of getting a college degree at this late age. I’ll also report on the state of our public colleges as well as give you some tips on how to help your children prepare for college.

Leave a Reply

Categories

