Posted by: Cindy Downes | June 9, 2007

My First Week of College!

Well, I made it through my first week of college at age 57! My college algebra class is going to be a real challenge. It is way more advanced that I anticipated; however, I have been studying intermediate Algebra with materials I have at home and doing my classwork too. So far I am keeping up enough that I think I will be able to pass this course. My Algebra teacher is interesting (has a sense of humor) and explains the material well so that helps a lot. Next week is my first major test. If I do OK on it, I will continue the course. Otherwise, I may have to drop it and enroll in Intermediate Algebra in the fall to catch up.

My other class is Speech. The teacher is very good but expects a lot of work so this definitely won’t be an easy class. However, it’s going to be very helpful to me and I am already learning things that will help me when I’m ready to go out on my speaking tour!

I’ve had a lot of homework and extra studying to do because I’m so far behind in Algebra. Some nights I only got four or five hours sleep!

Of course, I am the oldest person in the class (no one anywhere near my age!). There is one guy in his 30’s, and two ladies in their late 30’s or early 40’s. It’s kind of fun being with all those young people so I’m enjoying it.

I also joined the college gym so I work out each morning before class. I went for a physical assessment this week and will start a program for me next week. I have gained a lot of weight and I’m really out of shape so I need this as much as college!

All in all, it’s been a very busy week, but I am enjoying it immensely.

Leave a Reply

Categories

