Posted by: Cindy Downes | July 28, 2007

My First Exposé of College

I promised you that I would let you know what life was like in college today. So, here goes. Keep in mind that I am currently going to a public, 2-year college (Tulsa Community College). I will start OSU in the spring.

I was really blessed with good teachers. My speech teacher, Mrs. Hall, was excellent. She was not easy but I learned a lot. Anyone who did the work and worked hard could earn a good grade, but if you goofed off, you would be in trouble.

My Algebra teacher, Mr. Nelson, was a good teacher also. He was excellent in his explanations. When I first looked at the Algebra book, I thought, “No way am I going to get this!” But each day, in class, Mr. Nelson was able to show me exactly what to do and why it was done that way. I learned a lot and saw how Algebra relates to real life. Now I know why it’s so important to learn Algebra! I heartily recommend both these teachers.

Now the bad news. There is no morals, no discipline, and evolution and political correctness reigns supreme. The students in the classes were very disrespectful. I could not believe how much they mouthed off to the teachers. In my algebra class, students would say, “I hate your teaching.” “You are the worst teacher.” etc. In speech class, one student offered to pay for the exam ahead of time. Cheating was rampant. If you want to pass without studying, I suppose its possible. Students were programming answers in their calculators, getting up to “go to the bathroom” during the exams, and the math teacher even left the classroom while we were taking an exam!

But what a mission field! If you want to go to the mission field, just go to college! I am looking forward to the next semester where I will be in the same class for 16 weeks instead of 8. I was just getting to know some of the students when the semester ended this summer. But in the fall, I hope to be able to get to know them sooner and get to really talk to them. Many of these kids are starving for meaningful relationships and answers to life as they know it. They are living in a world that is so confusing and so dangerous with no answers. Keep our college kids in prayer. And keep me in prayer next semester that I will have opportunities to reach out to these kids and give them the answers that they are so desperately looking for.

As far as sending your kids to these colleges, all I can say is that you better be sure that your child is real grounded in the word. That they have more than a head knowledge of God and that they are determined to live by His principles. If not, you are sending your child into a war zone without weapons. It was bad in my day (1960’s) but today, it’s unbelievably worse. In the 60’s, at least there were some morals left. Today, there are none. I was talking with one little girl who was programming her calculator with answers to the Algebra quiz. She offered to program mine since I didn’t know how to do it. When I said that I couldn’t sleep at night if I did that, she answered very sincerely, “It’s not really cheating. I’m only taking this course because it’s required. It’s different if it’s your major.” She was sincere in her answer and believed that that was ok! (On a side note, I taught her how to memorize the two formulas she wanted to remember by using mnemonics. She was delighted!)

Judges 17:6
“In those days there was no king in Israel, but every man did that which was right in his own eyes.”

Responses

  1. Bless your heart! You are on a new path, eh? You are a blessing to anyone you meet! Keep on keeping on, my Friend!

    Miss ya!
    Ellen

  2. Fascinating!! Makes me glad that my oldest is going to college online. But it isn’t long until my second oldest will be going to CC at least part time. Thanks for the heads up!

  3. wow. finding this post is a godsend as i was considering a winter course for my hm sch daughter…wow.
    bless you for seeing it as a mission opportunity!
    bless you!

  4. […] Homeschool Blog Empty Nest Mom Goes to College […]

  5. I do want to state that I did not find OSU-Tulsa to be the same way. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at OSU-Tulsa and did not see the same problems. Perhaps it is because it was junior and senior year classes and people who make it that far are more serious about their studies? I’m not sure, but there was clearly a difference.


Leave a Reply

Categories

