Posted by: Cindy Downes | September 13, 2007

Teachers – The Good Ones

I just nominated one of my teachers, Mary Gwin (from OSU) for the President’s Outstanding Faculty Award at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa. Ms. Gwin has gone “the extra mile” in helping me to understand the material in my Symbolic Logic class. She has not only met with me after class to work through problems that I couldn’t understand, but she has also emailed me extra practice problems to work. She then corrected the problems and sent them back to me all within one day! She has offered to lend me additional study material to use while taking the course and encourages me to take advantage of office hours, email, and phone contact for additional help.

If you have a chance, nominate your good teachers for awards. It takes a little time, but it might be worth it. Maybe we’ll get more excellent teachers and less teachers that are only there because they are tenured.

Leave a Reply

Categories

