Posted by: Cindy Downes | October 4, 2007

The Good Ones – Part II

Have you heard that saying, “You can’t judge a book by its cover?” Well, I have another one – you can’t judge a professor in the first week or two of school.

I am taking an Honors class in Introduction to Mass Communication for my major. The first two weeks of class I was a bit frustrated. I had never been in a class where we discussed our way through the course. I’m used to the traditional read the text, answer the questions, and take a test. I was so frustrated at first that I considered dropping the course. However, I stuck it out and I’m so glad I did.

Dr. Bailey is one of those unique teacher’s who gets you to think outside the box and learn more about yourself and the subject you are studying than you would ever get from a textbook alone. She is more concerned with the practical aspects of learning journalism than memorization of facts.

I have learned to search out facts from every angle including reading the news from many sources including foreign countries. We have discussed topics that are extremely important in journalism such as where we get our news, who runs the media outlets today, and how we feel about free speech and banning books. One thing I particularly appreciate is that she is very good at remaining neutral. The students in the class (including myself) are able to express our opinions without fear of being criticized for having the “wrong” opinion. We rarely agree but the atmosphere is one of “agreeing to disagree.”

She has stretched me a lot this semester already and I’m glad she did. I’m looking forward to the rest of the course.

Another great teacher! They really are out there!

Leave a Reply

Categories

