Posted by: Cindy Downes | January 11, 2008

First Classes

I had my first classes this week and I think I’m going to enjoy both of them. I’m taking Principles of Public Relations with Lauren Brookey at TCC and Comparative Criminal Justice Systems with Bin Liang at OSU.

I already like the way they have planned out their classes. I know what to expect and when it is due. I like organized teachers.

The PR class is going to be a lot of writing, but that’s what I like to do! The CJ systems class has a presentation and term paper due at the end so it will be important that I not get behind in my writing.

The biggest challenge I’m going to have in my CJ class is the time it is given. I have to be on campus from 7:20 to 10:00 at night! I am a morning person. After dinner, my brain goes to sleep. Somehow, I have to overcome this. Even though I found Bin to be interesting, I had trouble paying attention. It’s going to be much harder for me in this class when taking a test, too!

The PR class is going to be time-consuming. We have to write a lot and post on the discussion board. I enjoy this, though, so it probably won’t bother me as long as I get the time to fit it all in. This weekend, I have to spend time working on my Web site. My server is giving me problems and I may change servers. This means moving all my passwords to a new server as well as all the problems of changing.

I also have a newsletter to write for my business, an event to plan for my Top 50 group, take my cat to the vet, cook meals, clean the house, shop for groceries, spend some time with my husband and kids, do the bills, start on my taxes, and, if I have time, continue working on my next writing project for $$! That’s why I’m only taking two classes this semester. My other life is also time consuming.
Oh, for the days of being an on-campus student with nothing to do but school and party! By the way, you can read more about my early life on my blog, Writing Lessons. I am slowly putting up my life story for my children to read. If any of you want to join me and put up your life story, I’d love to have you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

