Posted by: Cindy Downes | September 28, 2008

College Experience – Part II

I wanted to write an update on my thoughts about college now that I’ve graduated TCC and am now at OSU-Tulsa. OSU-Tulsa is an excellent college and wonderful for those who like small class sizes. You get to know the instructors (and they you) really well. I’ve enjoyed getting to know all of them personally, as well as academically.

The work is hard, but very fair. I haven’t seen the cheating and “just get them through” attitude that I discovered in some of my classes at TCC. Instead, it’s been a challenge to get good grades in all my classes here. The instructors have all been first rate and really know their subject. I’m learning a lot and being stretched in many ways. I finally feel like I am finally getting my money’s worth!

There is the usual, over-done political correctness and mostly liberal thinking here – after all it is a public college. But it has nudged me to examine my own thinking. I’ve done a lot of soul searching on my own and discovered areas of thinking that I, too, need to change. Yet, at the same time, it has confirmed my faith in God and the desire to do His will. It’s reaffirmed my belief that God has a purpose for my life and attending college is part of that purpose. 

I’ve learned to treat others who have different opinions with respect and, in almost every case, have been given respect in return. No, we don’t always agree, but we are understanding one another better. It helps me know how to pray for others as well as for myself. It helps me examine myself and my own motives to see if I really do love others as Jesus would want me to or do I just say the words. I’ve made friends with people who are “different” from me and learned from them. Hopefully, they have learned something good from me. 

I’m really excited that I will be done in 1 year and 3 months (at age 59 – almost 60), if all goes well! And I look forward to using all I’ve learned academically, socially, and spiritually in whatever God calls me to do when I’m finished. It’s been an exciting trip so far and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a challenge!

Responses

  1. Hi Cindy…I saw your lovely review of Life Prep at Amazon and googled you so I could thank you for it (Thank you!), and found this blog.

    I’ve been reading your posts here and find your viewpoint so interesting! I graduated from j-school in 1980 (University of Illinois). I loved it, but while reading your posts I’ve decided you’re probably getting a lot more out of it than I did. I’ve thought for some time that people need some life experience to really appreciate college classes. You’re living proof of this!

    Congratulations on your impending graduation. I look forward to reading more about your adventures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

