Posted by: Cindy Downes | March 25, 2009

Another great opportunity!

Today, I had the honor of speaking to a group of journalism students and a past professor at Tulsa Community College on self-publishing and social media marketing. What a wonderful opportunity it was! 

I put together a powerpoint presentation in which I explained the benefits of self-publishing, steps to take in order to self-publish a book, and how to use social media as a marketing tool. I brought samples of my work to show them and gave them a handout containing a list of resources for more information.

Everyone seemed to enjoy the lecture. I received a lot of positive feedback in spite of the fact that my powerpoint presentation went on automatic pilot and had a mind of its own. I think the transition from Mac to PC caused a bug in the program. It wouldn’t do it on my Mac, but when I ran it on the PC computer in the room, it decided to move ahead on its own time schedule! But we managed to work around it by backing it up when it got too far ahead.

I enjoyed seeing some of my old TCC classmates and Dr. Beverly Bailey, my journalism professor from TCC.  All in all it was a great day and one that increased my desire to do more teaching. I should have gotten a teaching degree!

Leave a Reply

Categories

