Posted by: Cindy Downes | May 4, 2009

Career Counseling Part I

OSU offers career counseling free to students as part of their services. I decided to take advantage of this and had my first appointment today. My counselor is Patti Schmigle, a delightful and insightful person! She picked my personality style in the first 5 minutes!

We first sat down and discussed my goals for the counseling sessions. My goals are to find out where I can use my interests and skills best in the job market. I’m not sure if I want to get a job or continue self-employment. If I do decide to get a job, where should I work and how should I prepare for the job hunting process? 

We decided to do some assessments first. I have lots of interests, but knowing my weaknesses will help me decide what will job would be best for me and for the company I work for, if I do get a job.

The first test I took was called, “Do What You Are” – I believe she said it was the Myers-Briggs test or similar to it. I came out as ENTJ. Here is an excerpt from the results:

Understanding you, Cindy
People like you are confident, and assertive. You almost always seem to be sure of yourself, and you speak your mind directly and honestly. You have strong opinions and are usually able to convince others that your position is right. While you are naturally very fair, you are also rather outspoken. Because you are so friendly and comfortable being the center of attention, you probably have a large circle of friends. People admire your determination and willingness to push yourself to achieve your very high standards.

You are also a creative person who likes to ask thought-provoking questions. You love to learn but get bored with any repetition, and constantly need a new challenge to stay interested. Imaginative and creative, you like to look beyond the everyday to really understand why the world operates as it does. You are decisive and organized, and since you like to be prepared at all times, you may find it difficult or embarrassing to try to improvise. You like to be in charge but sometimes take over projects that aren’t really yours. You are frustrated by inefficiency, and find illogical rules infuriating. Whatever you try, you want to be good at, and you especially like to demonstrate your competence to others. People around you look to you as a natural leader and are often impressed with your knowledge. You are a person other people respect so they feel comfortable giving you a lot of responsibility.

Note: Based on our assessment, your personality type is “ENTJ.”

Not totally sure of what that means yet; however, I’m sure the students in my class will agree with some of these statements! We will go over the results on Wednesday at our next appointment.

Next, she put me on the Kuder Career Search test. I spent a while on it at OSU. Then, as she suggested, I decided to take a break. It’s a lot of work and time consuming. There are three tests – one determines your career cluster interests; another your skills profile; and a third your work values. I took a break for lunch and came home and worked through the remaining tests. It took me about 4 hours to finish and select a few careers in which I thought I might be interested. Patti will go over these with me on Wednesday. 

I will write more as I discover more. If you haven’t checked out your career resource center, I suggest that you do!

Leave a Reply

Categories

