Posted by: Cindy Downes | October 30, 2009

Mazda Campaign

My last project for IMC is to create a IMC campaign for Mazda. For me, this was a tough one. I’m not a car enthusiast at all. But, you gotta do what you gotta do!

So, the first thing I did was to create a survey using Survey Monkey. I sent the survey to all my friends and family, asking 16-24 year olds to answer it. The questions were to help me find out what my target knows about the Mazda brand, their perception of Mazda, and what influences them to buy a car.

I received 88 responses; 55 of from people between the ages of 16-24 (my target market). However, of the 55, only 32 actually fit Mazda’s description of the target they want to address.

I also did some secondary research to learn something about my targets’ demographics and psychographics.

My next step was to research the Mazda car for myself, since I didn’t know anything about it. I researched online and went to the local Mazda dealer to talk with the manager about the Mazda brand and the type of customers who bought them. Very helpful! I must admit, I came away intrigued with the brand myself – maybe my next car?!

After outlining my primary and secondary research, Mazda history and SWOT, I’m now working on goals and objectives for the campaign.

Screen shot 2009-10-30 at 12.41.17 PMOne book that has been extremely helpful and that was recommended by my teacher, Dr. Lori McKinnon, is IMC, Using Advertising & Promotion to Build Brands by Tom Duncan. If you need to create a marketing campaign, I highly recommend this book, not only to read, but as a resource for examples.  (DISCLOSURE: I will get a referral fee if you purchase that book from the link.)

My next assignment is to come up with a BIG IDEA. What do I think will effectively promote Mazda to this target group. I’ll have to think on that one a while. It’s not due until next week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

