Posted by: Cindy Downes | December 1, 2009

A Bittersweet Walk

Yesterday, I completed my last assignment and gave my last presentation. If this had happened in 1972, as originally planned, I know I would have raced off campus shouting for joy and probably never looked back; but instead, I found myself a bit melancholy as I walked the halls of the OSU-Tulsa campus for the last time.

It was a bittersweet moment as I drove off campus and thought about how much I would miss the teachers, staff, students and classes that have become a part of my life for the last two and one half years. Suddenly, I realized it’s over. Empty Nest Mom is about to graduate and end another phase of her life. What will I do next?

Today, I’m going to start deep-cleaning my house, something that hasn’t happened since June 2007, when I started this adventure. Then, I’m going to write Christmas cards and decorate for the holidays.

Next, I’m going to Stillwater and participate in the OSU graduation ceremony. After the ceremony, I’ll celebrate my accomplishment with my friends and family; the ones who encouraged me to endure; who listened patiently as I shamelessly bragged about the A I received or heartlessly complained about “all the work I had” as if they didn’t have any; and the ones who prayed for me throughout this special season of my life. I couldn’t have done it without them.

After that, it’s back to writing. I’ll end this Blog; and, maybe someday, when my great-great-great grandchildren want to know what their ancestor did back in the early 2000s, they’ll find my Blog and read it. I hope it will inspire them to finish the course and make them realize that it’s never too late to fulfill your dreams.

Also posted on Socially Orange.

Leave a Reply

Categories

